forgames.blogg.se

How to setup ssd as boot drive
How to setup ssd as boot drive






how to setup ssd as boot drive

I was running a really old BIOS, and never properly set it up when I initially installed Windows 10 many years ago. I’m still not 100% sure why, so feel free to comment below!

how to setup ssd as boot drive

In the end however, my problem had more to do with the difference between BIOS and UEFI, and how storage devices are addressed. While googling for solutions, many solutions mentioned the bootrec.exe, bcdedit.exe and diskpart commands to solve the boot issues. The main recurring error was Inaccessible Boot Device, however in my troubleshooting attempts I saw many more errors. Long story short: I cloned the old SSD to the M.2 SSD, rebooted from the M.2 SSD, and… was greeted with a variety of errors. Instead, I wanted to clone Windows 10 from SATA SSD to M.2 SSD.Īfter a little bit of research, I ended up with Macrium Reflect, which is freeware disk cloning software. There’s just too many applications, settings and licenses on that system that I didn’t want to recreate or re-enter. I wasn’t really looking forward to a full reinstallation of Windows 10 though. The physical installation is dead simple: remove graphics card, install M.2 SSD, reinstall graphics card.

how to setup ssd as boot drive

Nevertheless, those specs got me to pick up a screwdriver and install the new M.2 SSD. I already had a SATA SSD installed in my gaming/photo editing PC. A few weeks ago I received a 1TB Western Digital Black SN750 M.2 SSD, boasting an impressive 3470 MB/s read speed on the packaging.








How to setup ssd as boot drive